• Sweden's news in English

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

Is it worth a master’s degree in Sweden?

to get a job in Sweden

parkpg1
post 18.Mar.2015, 09:34 AM
Post #1

Hi. I'm not a Swedish but i am thinking to move to Sweden with my partner.
I have a Bachelor's degree in business management from one of English speaking countries and
I have some work experience. Luckily, I got a sambo visa so i can study Swedish for free.

I heard it is very difficult to get a job in Sweden. If they are from foreign countries and do not speak Swedish.

My questions is
Studying for master in Sweden.
Is it worth to do?

I saw many posts that even though they finished their master in Sweden, they still have trouble with getting a job in Sweden.
If i can get more chances to get a job in Sweden, i m willing to study for master for 2 years.
However, if master in Sweden is not important, I'm thinking to study just Swedish at SFI and try to get a job.
Any comments will be very helpful.
Go to the top of the page
+
Applecore
post 18.Mar.2015, 09:57 AM
Post #2

It all boils down to language really. The masters might help in creating a network, which can sort of help you with finding vacancies, but in the end i think language is more important. Maybe you can register instead for a career specific sfi course, i think it's called sfx.
+
skogsbo
post 18.Mar.2015, 10:09 AM
Post #3

Some places run fast track SFI for those who are educated & motivated and simply don't want to drag it out over several years.