• Sweden edition

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

Daycare Queue for Foreigners?

Will start work in April - sign child up now?

manofthehill
post 3.Jan.2013, 12:55 AM
Post #1

All,
Any experiences or advice would be appreciated.

I will start work here in Gothenburg Sweden in April. Currently, I am a resident (and citizen) of the US, and my wife and son are Swedish citizens. My tax advisor has stated that we should not register as local people here in Sweden until we are actually to begin working, as then the government may come to tax our income. Even if it's just the two of them.

My wife had suggested this, so as to "get a spot" in day care, but according to the tax advisor's advice, we probably won't do that.

Anyone ever heard of a legitimate place-holder for foreigners? Another queue for those planning on a future residency in Sweden?

Thanks,
Chris
Go to the top of the page
+
Marmi
post 3.Jan.2013, 01:01 AM
Post #2

What country does your tax advisor work in? I'll assume the US, and thus doesn't know anything about taxing in Sweden.

If your wife doesn't work, she doesn't pay taxes. There's no such thing as joint taxing in Sweden, everyone is taxed as individuals. If you don't register with Skatteverket right away when you move to Sweden, you can count not being able to do ANYTHING. If you're not registered with Personnummer, you basically don't exist.

And WHY on earth would there be special day care spots held for foreigners?

Just get with the system, and you'll be just fine!
+
Puffin
post 3.Jan.2013, 01:43 AM
Post #3