• Sweden edition

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

Getting Paid for work

Employer refuses to pay me

gilljohniez
post 26.Feb.2013, 11:58 AM
Post #1

Hi All,

I did some work for a local pub here in Sweden recently. It was around three weeks work and a total of 120 hours, I have since left the job in search of something better and they are not returning calls or messages.

I have provided everything needed to get paid and am not sure what to do next.

Half of the work done was in Jan and therefore I was expecting to get paid yesterday on the 25th Feb. Is this correct? I am new to Sweden and any tips on how payday works or who I should contact regarding the unpaid wages would be great.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
+
John.Smith
post 26.Feb.2013, 12:06 PM
Post #2

You need to physically call into the pub and find out what is going on. Either they are looking to swindle you or their administration is bad and they simply have not registered you yet.

Kind of seems strange that you would leave a paying job in search of another? Why not stay employed until you find the better job? If you were fired or had a falling out with the pub owner then you may be in for a battle.

If all else fails then talk with Skatteverket and let them know that the pub is seeking to employ people on the black.
+
gilljohniez
post 26.Feb.2013, 12:12 PM
Post #3

I left because the standards were very low and I want to further my career as a chef. I am not going to name the place but when I arrived I found cooked food on the same board as raw chicken being sent out to customers. There is no point staying somewhere that will hurt your career.

I am also starting SFI soon so the hours wouldn't work anyway.