• Sweden's news in English

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

Chasing the sun

Events and stuff for the longest days

chinde01
post 4.Jun.2015, 10:11 PM
Post #1

Hi All

I'm new to Sweden and am enjoying the long days we're currently having. I am a little too far south (Örnsköldsvik-ish) to get the full 24hrs daylight, however I am planning a trip north to see it. Can anyone suggest any good events which will be happening around that time which will take in the super long day? I am particularly interested in any Sami/traditional folk type stuff.

Many thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
+
skogsbo
post 5.Jun.2015, 08:04 AM
Post #2

You mean midsummers day, or rather the Friday before? Or in general? As those farther north will enjoy the sun for a month or two constantly, not just a set day.
+
chinde01
post 5.Jun.2015, 09:45 AM
Post #3

I'm not too hung up on midsummer day/eve (as I know there is a bigger window than just the one day) but I will be traveling around that time as I'm thinking that that is when the events will be.
Currently looking at the Saturday/Sunday just after midsummer.
+
skogsbo
post 5.Jun.2015, 12:35 PM
Post #4

sat, sun... You might find some family day time stuff, but most people will be recovering, cleaning up and doing a trip to the bottle bank with the empties.
+
Hisingen
post 6.Jun.2015, 11:01 AM
Post #5

With crowds at the chemists getting Alvedon or Alka Seltzers - - - biggrin.gif
+
elliha
post 12.Jun.2015, 10:30 AM
Post #6