• Sweden edition

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

CV format in Sweden

any advice on a good format?

Puffin
post 29.Sep.2010, 01:37 PM
Post #1

Need to write a new CV on max 2 pages of a format used in Sweden for a job application

Does anyone have any links to a good CV format
- some of the ones I see online are full of wishy washy *career goals and aims* - do you needs these?
- do you really need a photo?
- what level of details? Do you mentions skills and tasks from previous jobs or just job titles - given that I have been working since 1983 I need to reduce detail
- to include personal details - or not?
Go to the top of the page
+
Eddymu
post 29.Sep.2010, 01:56 PM
Post #2

Hi Puffin,

I'm sending you a PM with a link to my CV as an example.

I used to work for Poolia and got quite a few tips from their consultants on how a Swedish CV should look.

Picture isn't necessary but is very Swedish to include one (that said, I didn't).

Also, my CV is in English but sure you can make your Swedish which is obviously better.

Hope it helps, good luck!
+
SarahRF
post 29.Sep.2010, 02:42 PM
Post #3

I was told by a Swedish HR friend a while back to
1. Keep it as simple as possible, no fancy layouts or fonts.
2. Only include information about previous jobs that is relevant to the job you're applying for. If you're applying to be a baker, don't include your dagis experience.

As to goals and aims, all I put in mine was "with this job I want to broaden my horizons, and make the every day grind of everyday life more enjoyable for the people I serve, through a smile, a promptly delivered meal or just a friendly hello." or something like that. That seemed good enough, as I got the job.