• Sweden edition

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
3 Pages V   1 2 3 >   Reply to this topic

Swedish PhD eligible for immigration?

Student immigration

amu1984
post 22.Apr.2011, 08:31 PM
Post #1

I am PhD student. I was wondering if a PhD student can apply for Swedish immigration.
Go to the top of the page
+
Solith
post 22.Apr.2011, 09:13 PM
Post #2

If you're a student here from abroad you MUST register with immigration, otherwise you will be deported.

Unless you are asking if by doing a PhD here you can live here for the rest of your life, in which case ask them as I have no idea about your circumstances.
+
amu1984
post 22.Apr.2011, 09:25 PM
Post #3

Exactly... i am asking whether i can apply for a swedish permanent resident permit. I did my master studies here in sweden and joined PhD since April 2010. Thanks for response.
+
jan.petras
post 22.Apr.2011, 10:14 PM
Post #4

Well mate as far as I know a PhD lasts 5 years. And you get paid. So it's a job.
My bet would be you have a really good chance staying in Sweden after the PhD.

I mean you as a foreign citizen have to renew your permit every year. There is no such form as a permanent residence permit for foreign international immigrants. Your case officer will decide WHEN you will receive a permanent residence permit, and that's not likely to happen sooner than 4-5 years. But it does happen because:

a) You are studying at the highest degree
cool.gif You can support yourself by having a job (PhD is paid as I understood)

You can also apply for citizenship AFTER you get a permanent residence permit.
+
Furu
post 22.Apr.2011, 11:33 PM
Post #5

QUOTE (amu1984 @ 22.Apr.2011, 10:25 PM) *