• Sweden's news in English

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

Enskild firma and register as my own employer

Taxes and Salary

ivanux
post 25.May.2012, 04:32 PM
Post #1

Hi
I live in Arvika (I already have a personnummer) and I am thinking in creating an enskild firma here.
I work as an IT consultant for some UK/USA/Spain companies and I know that it works this way:
-> Income - Expenses = Profit
-> Profit - 30% (Social security) = Taxable
-> Taxable - 30% (taxes) = Real income

But, today a friend told me that if I register as my own employer and as employee who works for an employer ... Numbers will be "better"...

Can somebody explain me how it works?

I probably gonna hire some accountant here to help me with all this information, but I didn't found anyone yet and skatteverket in Arvika wasnt very helpfull.. they told me that they dont know about "taxes" and they give me a phone number (from a Skatterverket taxes deparment I presume) to call for taxes information...
Go to the top of the page
+
johnjohn
post 25.May.2012, 04:48 PM
Post #2

Yes see an accountant. You must pay social contribution then your income tax. a very rough rule of thumb is you will pay just under 50 percent of your earnings to the government.
+
Nordscript
post 26.Dec.2012, 11:50 PM
Post #3

As a rule of thumb, if you register as a sole trader (enskild firma) you cannot be employed by your firm (this can only be done in a limited liability company - AB).
www.nordscript.eu
+
purplemurple
post 11.Jan.2013, 02:25 PM
Post #4

As I've understood it you'll need to change to an AB to be your own employer but it only makes real difference if your liable for the national tax level (payable at approx 35000sek a month salary).