• Sweden's news in English

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
3 Pages V   1 2 3 >   Reply to this topic

Help! I need a License Fast and Not From EEA

Obtaining a Valid License ASAP

william9876
post 28.Dec.2012, 09:49 PM
Post #1

I managed to screw myself over a little by being careless and now, my Canadian license is expiring and I am a resident in Sweden. I don't have time to go through all the hoops to get a Swedish license so I am wondering if there is another way.

Basically, do you think it is possible to fly to another EEA country to take a driver's test and get a license or do you need to be a resident as a requirement in all of those countries? If it is possible, can it then be traded in for a Swedish license without issue or are there any complications from taking this route?

I will only do this if it is technically allowed. I don't want to break any rules but I am running out of time and need a license much faster than I can get one in Sweden (I have driven over 500,000km in Canada). If you guys think this is an option, I am open ears to recommendations of where to go and what to consider to do this and I'll even make a vacation out of it smile.gif

It is extremely frustrating that they don't allow a Canadian license to be transferred to Swedish given that Canada has safer driving statistics than half of the EEA.
Go to the top of the page
+
Bender B Rodriquez
post 28.Dec.2012, 09:55 PM
Post #2

Not possible. EEA countries require you to be a resident with a permit >6 months before you are allowed to get a license.