• Sweden edition

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

Italy, Spain, Greece in the European Union?

What is happening?

alanis
post 4.Feb.2013, 10:31 AM
Post #1

I have been living in Sweden for a few months now and meeting people from all over the world, the funny thing it seems that in Sweden they don´t want us European to live here, despite the European Union agreement between countries. I love Sweden, I have fantastic friends here, but although I am European, I go to private University in Stockholm, I pay rent (very high) and all what I want is a personal number to open an Bank account but they say NO. Why is that? I am from Europe, I have a Degree and two masters, I have money in the Bank (not in Sweden because without a personal number you can´t open a Bank Account), I have private health insurance and they say NO to give me a personal number which I am entitle too. I can´t understand and it´s very frustrating. I thought Sweden was an open country, the Sweds I know are fantastic people and they make you feel at home but the system rejects you. Why?????
It appears to me that in Stockholm they are trying to avoid us from Italiy Greece or Spain to come, I thought we had an open agreement and in my country there are lots of Swedish people working and they get their personal numbers without problems because of the European Union.

WHAT CAN I DO?
Go to the top of the page
+
Essingen
post 4.Feb.2013, 10:37 AM
Post #2

I have private health insurance and they say NO to give me a personal number which I am entitle too.

Have you tried asking for the reason?
+
johnjohn
post 4.Feb.2013, 10:39 AM
Post #3

If I am correct a student is not considered to be a resident.
+
PDX
post 4.Feb.2013, 10:46 AM
Post #4