• Sweden edition

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

Pension in case of short-term employment

What-if question

darkos
post 4.Feb.2013, 01:56 PM
Post #1

Hi,

I have a Swedish work and residence permit and have been working in Sweden for a little less than a year. My employer is paying general income tax (Skatt) as well as all other benefits (health insurance, retirement fees, etc - Arbetsgivaravgifter).

My question is regarding the pension.

First, I am clearly not eligible for any kind of pension as I've been working only for 10 months here.

But on the other hand, the retirement fees that the employer pays for me are around 10% of the brutto salary (http://sv.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arbetsgivaravgifter_i_Sverige).

So what happens to that money?

If short-term employees in Sweden aren't eligible for pension, are the funds given to the Swedish pension system just "thrown" away (from employee's perspective of course; the state will surely use them for something).

Am I missing something?

Thanks,
Darko
Go to the top of the page
+
Yorkshireman
post 4.Feb.2013, 03:04 PM
Post #2

QUOTE (darkos @ 4.Feb.2013, 01:56 PM) *
So what happens to that money? If short-term employees in Sweden aren't eligible for pension, are the funds given to the Swedish pension system just "thrown" awa ... (show full quote)