• Sweden's news in English

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

SFI different options help please!

Any advice welcome!

aran1989
post 20.Mar.2013, 01:28 PM
Post #1

Hi all

My name is Aran and im from the UK myself and my girlfriend recently moved back here to Stockholm after 3 years in the UK ( worth mentioning she is obv Swedish and the reason we are here) I have been lucky enough to find work here but now has come time to learn Swedish. I have been offered 20 hours per week in the mornings of afternoons @ SFI or 6 hours a week in the evenings. The problem is if I do the 20 hours in the mornings or afternoons it will be difficult to get shifts at work! im considering doing the 6 hours per week but was wondering if you people think this will be enough? I am a graduate so have been told that I will be with other people with degrees will this mean we go at a faster pace? and I want to start from scratch so will the evening courses enable me to do this? just throwing this thread out there to gauge peoples experiences/ get some advice! many thanks in advance!

Aran
Go to the top of the page
+
PDX
post 20.Mar.2013, 01:38 PM
Post #2

6 hours a week is nothing to learn a language unless you put an additional, say, 20+ on your own in the form of self-study.

I have no idea how long the SFI would last if done at the 20 hour a week pace, but perhaps it is worth considering giving up on some shifts at work for a temporary period of time.

~~~PDX~~~
+
gplusa
post 20.Mar.2013, 01:47 PM
Post #3

I did 4 hours a week ( 2 x 2 hours) with evening classes and it took me about a year to complete all the internal class assignments, which was a requirement in my school to complete the SFI programme (as well as the external exam of course)
+
PageyGB