• Sweden edition

The comments below have not been moderated in advance and are not produced by The Local unless clearly stated.
Readers are responsible for the content of their own comments. Comments that breach our terms and conditions will be removed.
  Reply to this topic

Starting a life in Sweden...

...answers needed...

Borishyd
post 27.Apr.2014, 03:38 AM
Post #1

Well, the title is self-explanatory, and similar to a lot of other posts I have seen on this forum, but I wanted to get some answers for my case specifically, so any answers are more than welcome. smile.gif

First off, I am a recent college graduate from Croatia, and have a master's degree in civil engineering - hydrotechnics to be more precise ( dams, spillways, hydro power plants, water supply and sewerage, maritime structures, river structures, etc.). Rather fluent in english but can't bark a single letter in swedish. tongue.gif

Croatia's economy and unemployment rates are disastrous, and I have been on the unemployment list for more than half a year. Even though our government had some projects for getting recent graduates jobs, it is so lame and unjust I don't even want to explain it.

After getting informed about working abroad for a bit, I got the notion that Sweden, along with Norway is one of the counties where almost everyone speaks fluent english, so I got to thinking about moving there and really starting my life.

So here's my list of questions:
1.) what are the realistic chances of me getting a job and position I studied for?
2.) what's the average pay for my field, and how can I expect it to rise with experience?
3.) already made a profile at EURES, but can you recommend any recruitment agencies which specialize in finding jobs in my field, of course for foreigners ( from EU, as Croatia is a recent member)?