Editions:  Austria · Denmark · France · Germany · Italy · Norway · Spain · Sweden · Switzerland

Nobel Prize in Literature: List of winners since 1986

Share this article

14:11 CEST+02:00
Harold Pinter is the second British winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature in the last five years.

2005: Harold Pinter (Britain)

2004: Elfriede Jelinek (Austria)

2003: J.M. Coetzee (South Africa)

2002: Imre Kertesz (Hungary)

2001: V.S. Naipaul (Britain)

2000: Gao Xingjian (France)

1999: Guenter Grass (Germany)

1998: Jose Saramago (Portugal)

1997: Dario Fo (Italy)

1996: Wislawa Szymborska (Poland)

1995: Seamus Heaney (Ireland)

1994: Kenzaburo Oe (Japan)

1993: Toni Morrison (USA)

1992: Derek Walcott (St Lucia)

1991: Nadine Gordimer (South Africa)

1990: Octavio Paz (Mexico)

1989: Camilo José Cela (Spain)

1988: Naguib Mahfouz (Egypt)

1987: Joseph Brodsky (USA)

1986: Wole Soyinka (Nigeria)

Get notified about breaking news on The Local

Share this article

From our sponsors

The ‘fairytale' boarding school nestled in a Swedish village

The words ‘boarding' and ‘school' often summon images of strict teachers, drab dormitories and downcast children. That image couldn't be further from reality at Sigtunaskolan Humanistiska Läroverket (SSHL), where boarders describe the ‘fairytale' school as a home away from home.