Christie novel gets Swedish PC makeover

Paul O'Mahony
Paul O'Mahony - [email protected]

Sweden has finally followed the lead of other countries and changed the name of the Agatha Christie novel originally known as 'Ten little niggers' (Tio små negerpojkar').


The novel is about to be released as an audio book by Bonnier Audio with a new title that translates as 'And then there was just one'.

The mystery novel, which tells the story of ten strangers lured onto an island off the coast of Devon in England, was first published in 1939.

When the book came out in the USA the following year the title had been changed to the less objectionable 'And then there were none'.

Britain later used the same title as the USA, having previously changed to 'Ten little Indians' in 1965.

Håkan Rudel, marketing manager for Albert Bonnier's Publishers, says the Swedish name change will apply to all future editions of the novel.

The first Swedish edition was released in 1940. So why did it take so long to reach a decision that many other countries took many years ago?

"I don't know. Nobody really noticed it and we haven't had any complaints," Rudel told The Local.

The last time the book was published in Sweden under its original Swedish title was in 2001 and there are still some copies in stock.

'And then there were none' has sold more copies worldwide than any other murder mystery novel.


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also