Ryanair closes five Swedish routes

Ryanair released tickets for 11 new routes from 7 bases around Europe on Thursday. The new routes include Dublin to Stockholm Skavsta but five Swedish routes will cease to operate as part of the change.

Ryanair closes five Swedish routes
Photo: Miroslav Krejcirik

By November 4th Malmö will lose five destinations – Dublin, Stansted, Barcelona, Madrid and Marseille – while the last flight on the Dublin to Västerås route will take off on October 28th.

“These 11 new routes bring the Ryanair network to 499 routes across 26 countries,” said Ryanair’s Head of Communications, Peter Sherrard, in a press release.

Sherrard added that in the coming year, 50 million passengers are expected to travel in Europe with the budget airline.

Last month Ryanair announced a major expansion at Stockholm Skavsta airport, with 13 new routes to European cities, including Liverpool, Berlin and Valencia.