Roy Andersson sweeps top Swedish movie awards

Roy Andersson sweeps top Swedish movie awards
Acclaimed movie director Roy Andersson swept the boards on Monday night as the stars of the Swedish film industry gathered at Cirkus in Stockholm for the annual Guldbagge ('Golden Beetle') award ceremony.

The six voting members of the Guldbagge jury awarded three of the industry’s most prestigious prizes – Best Picture, Best Director and Best Screenplay – to Andersson’s film You, The Living (Du levande).

The movie is also Sweden’s candidate for an Academy Award nomination for Best Foreign Language Film. It has been described by Variety “a morosely comic symphony on the meaning (or is that meaninglessness?) of life”.

Eight years have passed since Andersson’s last release, Songs from the Second Floor, won the Grand Jury Prize at Cannes and was also chosen as Sweden’s Oscar candidate.

Directorial debutant Johan Kling might have hoped for a greater return on the six awards for which his movie Darling was nominated.

Kling’s reflection on a heartless society won just two awards. Michael Segerström picked up the prize for Best Actor in a Leading Role, while Geir Hartly Andreassen received the award for Best Cinematography.

The award for Best Actress in a Leading Role went to Sofia Ledarp for her portrayal of Lena in To Love Someone (Den man älskar).

Veteran Ingmar Bergman collaborator Bibi Andersson was rewarded with the prize for Best Actress in a Supporting Role for her part in Arn: The Knight Templar.

Though opening to mixed reviews from the critics, the most expensive movie ever made in Scandinavia also won the Audience Award for best movie.

Hassan Brijany scooped the prize for Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his performance in One Eye Red (Ett öga rött).

Other prizes:

Best Foreign Language Film

This is England

Director: Shane Meadows

Best Short Film

What You Do/ Hur man gör

Directors: Gunilla Heilborn, Kim Hiorthøy, Mårten Nilsson

Best Documentary Film

The Nun/ Nunnan

Director: Maud Nycander

From the Board of the Swedish Film Institute:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Actor Gösta Ekman

The Gullspira Award 2008 (for extraordinary contributions in films for children)

Ulf Stark