Trio complete Eurovision final line up

Trio complete Eurovision final line up
Sarah Dawn Finer, Carolina af Ugglas and Sofie Berntsson completed the line up for Sweden's Melodifestivalen by claimed the remaining places at the "Second Chance" heat in Norrköping on Saturday.

Pre-tournament favourite Sarah Dawn Finer beat off a bout of the flu to claim a place in the final with a rousing rendition of her ballad “Moving On”.

Finer overcame the challenge of Swedish dance band Scotts with “Jag tror på oss” (lit: I believe in us) in the first quarter-final face off. Finer then proved too strong for eighties comeback duo Lili & Susie, who had beaten perennial Eurovision favourites BWO with “You’re not alone”.

The bottom half of the draw pitted Carolina af Ugglas with her Janis Joplin inspired “Snälla, Snälla” (lit: Please, Please) against Rigo & The Topaz Sound feat. Red Fox and their reggae hit “I got you”.

Af Ugglas’ emotional solo was enough to claim a semi-final place against gimmick band The Star Pilots who had seen off the challenge of teenage sensation Amy Diamond and her pop hit “It’s my life”.

Af Ugglas’ serious tone was favoured by the massive television audience and her “ugly duckling” flew higher that the uniform-clad would-be fighter pilots.

The international jury completed the final line up in Globen on March 14th with its vote going to Sofia Berntsson with “Alla”, a surprise package that had placed only seventh in her heat.

So the eleven contestants that will battle it out for the right to represent Sweden in this year’s Eurovision contest in Moscow in May are: H.E.A.T, Måns Zelmerlöw, Alcazar, Emilia, E.M.D, Molly Sandén, Agnes, Malena Ernman, Sarah Dawn Finer, Caroline af Ugglas and Sofia Berntson.