European Parliamentary Elections

Elections to the European Parliament are held every five years.

The current parliament consists of 785 members (a temporary expansion following the addition of Romania and Bulgaria to the EU in 2007).

While Sweden elected 19 MEPs in 2004, it has only been allotted 18 seats in a deal to bring the number of seats back down to 736 and still make room for representatives from the EU’s two new member states.

When (or if) the EU’s most recent treaty, the Treaty of Lisbon, gets ratified, the number of seats in the European Parliament will change once again, rising to 751, with Sweden’s allotment rising to 20 seats.

Voters in most countries, including Sweden, will head to the polls on Sunday June 7th.

Next: Who can vote in Sweden?

Step by Step guide:

1. The European Parliament in 30 seconds or less

2. European Parliamentary Elections

3. Who can vote in Sweden?

4. How do I vote and how does the election work?

5. Who on earth do I vote for on June 7th?

6. But what do the parties in Sweden actually want to do?

6 a.   Riksdag Parties (from left to right)

6 b.   Other parties to watch (in no particular order)

Back to the Election Guide main page