Ibrahimovic nominated for FIFA award

Sweden and Barcelona striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic has been named among the 23 contenders shortlisted for the FIFA World Player of the Year award.

Ibrahimovic is not widely tipped to take home the award this time around, with Barcelona teammate and Argentine playmaker Lionel Messi regarded as the favourite.

Furthermore Six Spaniards have been named in the shortlist for the FIFA award.

They include three players from Barcelona, Real Madrid goalkeeper Iker Casillas and Liverpool striker Fernando Torres.

England are the next best represented nation on the shortlist with four players in the running including two from Chelsea in John Terry and Frank Lampard.

Last year’s winner Cristiano Ronaldo, who was with Manchester United then and is currently with Real Madrid, is also listed again.

With voting restricted to the coaches and captains of national selections, a final shortlist of five players will be named in early December with the winner announced on December 21st.

FIFA shortlist for World Player of the Year

Spain (6): Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona), Carlos Puyol (Barcelona), Fernando Torres (Liverpool/ENG), David Villa (Valencia), Xavi (Barcelona)

England (4): Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), John Terry (Chelsea)

Brazil (3): Diego (Juventus/ITA), Kaka (Real Madrid/ESP), Luis Fabiano (Sevilla/ESP)

France (2): Thierry Henry (Barcelona/ESP), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich/GER)

Germany: Michael Ballack (Chelsea/ENG)

Argentina: Lionel Messi (Barcelona/ESP)

Cameroon: Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan/ITA)

Ivory Coast: Didier Drogba (Chelsea/ENG)

Ghana: Michael Essien (Chelsea/ENG)

Italy: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

Portugal: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid/ESP)

Sweden: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Barcelona/ESP)

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.