Letter to the Editor: UK MPs back Sweden over Palestinian capital

As EU foreign ministers gather in Brussels to debate the future of Israeli-Palestinian relations, a group of British MPs have come out in support of a Swedish proposal to establish East Jerusalem as the capital of a future Palestinian state.

Dear Editor

We, Parliamentarians in the UK, would like to put on record our

support for the Swedish Presidency’s draft document calling for a

viable state of Palestine, comprising the West Bank and Gaza and with

East Jerusalem as its capital. Additionally, we entirely support its

reiteration that settlements, the separation barrier on occupied land

and the demolition of homes are illegal under international law and

constitute an obstacle to peace by threatening to make a two-state

solution impossible. We have asked our Foreign Secretary to endorse

this document at the meeting in Brussels on Monday 7th December.

We pay tribute to the Swedish Presidency for raising this and for

standing firm against attempts to derail this initiative.

Yours sincerely

Martin Linton M.P, Chair of British-Swedish All-Party Parliamentary

Group and Chair of Labour Friends of Palestine & the Middle East

Other names below:

Robert Marshall-Andrews Q.C M.P (Labour)

Phyllis Starkey M.P (Labour)

Jeremy Corbyn M.P (Labour)

Mark Durkan M.P (SDLP)

Richard Burden M.P (Labour)

Bob Russell M.P (Liberal Democrat)

Andrew George M.P (Liberal Democrat)

Anne Moffat M.P (Labour)

Mohammad Sarwar M.P (Labour)

Dai Havard M.P (Labour)

Jim Hood M.P (Labour)

Glenda Jackson M.P (Labour)

Dr. Lynne Jones M.P (Labour)

David Lepper M.P (Labour and Co-operative)

Tom Levitt M.P (Labour)

Albert Owen M.P (Labour)

Ronnie Campbell M.P (Labour)

Martin Caton M.P (Labour)

Ann Cryer M.P (Labour)

John Cummings M.P (Labour)

David Drew M.P (Labour and Co-operative)

Peter Bottomley M.P (Conservative)

Andy Slaughter M.P (Labour)

Emily Thornberry M.P (Labour)

Linda Riordan M.P (Labour and Co-operative)

Stephen Williams M.P (Liberal Democrat)

Mark Lazarowicz M.P (Labour and Co-operative)

Claire Short M.P (Labour)

Lord Glentoran (Conservative)

Paul Rowen M.P (Liberal Democrat)

Derek Conway M.P (Conservative)

Mark Fisher M.P (Labour)

Baronness Butler-Sloss (Cross-Bench)

Charlotte Atkins M.P (Labour)

John Austin M.P (Labour)

Frank Cook M.P (Labour)

Lord Maclennan (Liberal Democrat)

Gordon Prentice M.P (Labour)

Paul Flynn M.P (Labour)

Dianne Abbott M.P (Labour)

Lord Hylton (Cross-Bench)

Dr. Brian Iddon M.P (Labour)

Lord Steel (Liberal Democrat)

Chris Mullin M.P (Labour)

Derek Wyatt M.P (Labour)

Jo Swinson M.P (Liberal Democrat)

Baroness Northover (Liberal Democrat)

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.