Sweden names Olympic men's ice hockey troupe

AFP/The Local
AFP/The Local - [email protected]

Swedish hockey legend Peter Forsberg, who has twice helped his country capture Olympic gold, was among the 23 players provisionally named on Sunday to the squad heading to Vancouver to defend Sweden’s Olympic ice hockey title.


The 36-year-old Forsberg, whose 12 National Hockey League seasons included two Stanley Cup titles with the Colorado Avalanche, has struggled with ankle and foot injuries in recent years. He now plays for Modo in Sweden’s top professional league.

The 2003 NHL Most Valuable Player, set up the winning goal in Sweden's 3-2 victory over Finland in the 2006 Turin Olympic final and scored the deciding goal in a shootout win over Canada for 1994 Olympic gold.

Sweden coach Bengt-Åke Gustafsson's lineup was largely comprised of NHL stars. Final squads are not set until February 15, the eve of the Olympic openers.

Gustafsson included Ottawa Senators captain Daniel Alfredsson despite the influential centre being ruled out for four to six weeks on Saturday with a separated left shoulder.

Nicklas Lidström, a six-time winner of the NHL's Norris Trophy as top defenseman, was among four Detroit Red Wings named to Sweden's team, joined by defenseman Niklas Kronwall, Tomas Holmström and Detroit scoring leader Henrik Zetterberg.

Goalkeepers: Jonas Gustavsson (Toronto Maple Leafs/NHL), Stefan Liv (HV 71), Henrik Lundqvist (New York Rangers/NHL)

Defenders: Tobias Enström (Atlanta Thrashers/NHL), Magnus Johansson (Linkopings HC), Niklas Kronwall (Detroit Red Wings/NHL), Nicklas Lidström (Detroit Red Wings/NHL), Douglas Murray (San Jose Sharks/NHL), Johnny Oduya (New Jersey Devils/NHL), Henrik Tallinder (Buffalo Sabres/NHL), Mattias Öhlund (Tampa Bay Lightning/NHL)

Forwards: Daniel Alfredsson (Ottawa Senators/NHL), Nicklas Bäckström (Washington Capitals/NHL), Loui Eriksson (Dallas Stars/NHL), Peter Forsberg (Modo), Tomas Holmström (Detroit Red Wings/NHL), Patric Hornqvist (Nashville Predators/NHL), Fredrik Modin (Columbus Blue Jackets/NHL), Samuel Påhlsson (Columbus Blue Jackets/NHL), Daniel Sedin (Vancouver Canucks/NHL), Henrik Sedin (Vancouver Canucks/NHL), Mattias Weinhandl (Dynamo Moscow/RUS), Henrik Zetterberg (Detroit Red Wings/NHL)


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also