Holly Hunter to lead Stockholm film fest jury

Peter Vinthagen Simpson
Peter Vinthagen Simpson - [email protected]
Holly Hunter to lead Stockholm film fest jury

American actress and Academy Award winner Holly Hunter has been appointed to lead the jury at this year's Stockholm International Film Festival, responsible for choosing the winner of the world's literally heaviest film award - the 7.3 kilogramme Bronze Horse.


"I am honoured to be serving as this year’s jury president at the Stockholm International Film Festival. I’m especially excited that this year’s festival is celebrating the extraordinary achievements of filmmaker Gus Van Sant," Hunter said in a statement by festival organisers on Monday.

Hunter will also participate in a Face2Face with the festival audience when she visits Stockholm for the first time.

"I look forward to meeting my fellow jury members and having the privilege of seeing and discussing a selection of world-class movies with them. I've never been to Stockholm and now I'll get the opportunity to be enchanted by a city and a country that have contributed so much to world cinema,” she said.

The festival organisers described Holly Hunter as "one of the bravest and most nuanced actresses in American film."

"Holly Hunter is a unique actress with the ability to make her often eccentric characters naturally spring to life. She is also a fervent supporter of independent film, and it's a great honor for us that she will lead the jury this year," said festival director Git Scheynius.

Holly Hunter landed her first starring role in Raising Arizona by the Coen brothers in 1987 and made her broad breakthrough the same year with the romantic comedy Broadcast News. In 1994 she earned an Academy Award for her role in The Piano and was also nominated for Best Supporting Actress for The Firm by Sydney Pollack.

The 52-year-old has also played unforgettable roles in some of the films featured at the Stockholm International Film Festival throughout the years. Notable appearances include David Cronenberg's Crash, featured in 1996, Thirteen by Catherine Hardwick in 2003, and Nine Lives by Rodrigo García in 2005.

The Stockholm XXI Competition will contain up to 20 films by directors making their first, second, or third feature. Holly Hunter along with four yet unannounced members of the jury will select winners in seven different categories. Among prior recipients of the Bronze Horse are Quentin Tarantino, Lars von Trier, Courtney Hunt and Yorgos Lanthimos.


Join the conversation in our comments section below. Share your own views and experience and if you have a question or suggestion for our journalists then email us at [email protected].
Please keep comments civil, constructive and on topic – and make sure to read our terms of use before getting involved.

Please log in to leave a comment.

See Also