Sweden extends ban on travel from non-EU countries

Sweden extends ban on travel from non-EU countries
An empty Arlanda Airport in late May. Photo: Jonas Ekströmer/TT
Sweden on Friday extended a temporary entry ban from outside the EU until the end of the month.

The entry ban to the EU via Sweden has been in place since mid-March and was due to run out on Monday. But on Friday it was extended until June 30th, in line with recommendations of the European Commission.

As before, the entry ban applies to foreign citizens travelling to Sweden from all countries in the world apart from other EU member states, the United Kingdom, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland.

Other than the extended deadline, there were no major changes made to the entry ban on Friday, and the same exceptions that applied before remain in force.

These include foreign citizens with Swedish residence permits who normally live in Sweden. However, if you have a residence permit but have not yet moved to Sweden you may not be allowed in, unless you are a family member of someone living in Sweden – family member could be a spouse, cohabiting partner or child.


(article continues below)

See also on The Local:

Other people who are exempt from the entry ban include, according to the Swedish justice ministry: healthcare professionals; frontier workers; seasonal workers in the agricultural, forestry and horticulture sectors; personnel transporting goods and other staff in the transport sector; diplomatic officials and certain paid consular officials and their families and employees; couriers of foreign states; people working in international organisations, military personnel and aid workers; passengers in transit; people with imperative family reasons; and people in need of international protection or who have other humanitarian reasons.

It is up to the border police to make assessments of each individual case.

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.