Sweden scraps travel warning for two more countries

Sweden scraps travel warning for two more countries
File photo of Helsinki. Photo: Magnus Hjalmarson Neideman/SvD/TT
Sweden on Monday lifted its warning against non-essential travel to Finland and Slovakia.

The decision comes into effect today, September 21st, said the Swedish foreign ministry.

That means journeys for any reason, including tourism, are now ok – at least as far as the Swedish foreign ministry is concerned – to Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and the Vatican.

For other countries in the EU, EEA and Schengen (which leaves only Estonia, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta and Slovenia) the advisory was extended until October 7th. The advice against non-essential travel to countries outside the EU remains in place until November 15th.

Those deadlines are not set in stone, and could be extended or scrapped early.

(article continues below)

See also on The Local:

The foreign ministry's advice against non-essential travel is not a legally binding ban, but has other implications that residents in Sweden may want to take into account before deciding to travel, for example that your Swedish travel insurance may not be valid if you disregard the advice.

The guidance has been in place since an early stage in the pandemic, due to global uncertainty and travel bans, so it relates to restrictions in place for travellers rather than being based on the spread of infection in the countries.

That said, it is important to remember that individual countries may also have their own rules about entry from Sweden, and that these may change quickly.

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.