Coronavirus MAP: Sweden’s updated travel warnings

Coronavirus MAP: Sweden's updated travel warnings
A flight from Sweden to Greece in summer. Photo: Stina Stjernkvist/TT
Sweden has lifted its advisory against non-essential travel to Lithuania, leaving only three EU countries and all countries outside the EU on its list of coronavirus travel warnings.

The decision came into effect on November 5th.

This means that as far as the Swedish foreign ministry's travel advice goes (and there may be other reasons not to travel), Swedish residents can travel freely for any reason, including tourism, to:

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • The Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • The United Kingdom
  • The Vatican

(article continues below)

See also on The Local:

For other countries in the EU (which now leaves only Estonia, Ireland and Latvia) the warning has now been extended to November 18th. The advice against non-essential travel to countries outside the EU remains in place until November 15th. Those dates are not set in stone, and could be extended or scrapped early.

The foreign ministry's advice against non-essential travel is not a legally binding ban, but has other implications that residents in Sweden may want to take into account before deciding to travel, for example that your Swedish travel insurance may not be valid if you disregard the advice.

The guidance has been in place since an early stage in the pandemic, due to global uncertainty and travel bans. It relates to restrictions in place for travellers rather than being based on the spread of infection in the countries. But travel warnings for more and more countries have been lifted in the past couple of months.

However, this does not mean that there are no restrictions at all in countries that the foreign ministry has lifted its warning for.

Travellers may, for example, be asked to show a negative coronavirus test on arrival, and they are of course expected to comply with any other pandemic-related rules or recommendations in the country. In addition, countries may reintroduce quarantine requirements and other coronavirus restrictions at a short notice.

Member comments

Become a Member to leave a comment.Or login here.