The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
2 Pages V   1 2 >   Reply to this topic

Help with Salary - PhD

Life in Gothenburg

MSR123
post 6.Mar.2017, 07:54 PM
Post #1

I am from India (29 years old) and I got an offer for pursuing PhD at Chalmers. The salary is around 29100 SEK before tax. Is this salary sufficient for two people to live in Gothenburg and still save money or would it be financially tight? How much will this increase year on year?

I heard that the salary difference between industry and research is very less. But is it really true?

Some leads on the above questions will help a lot.
Go to the top of the page
+
yet another brit
post 6.Mar.2017, 08:00 PM
Post #2

29k to be a PhD student is quite OK, even generous. 29k as a post-doc salary is below expectations. It will only increase by a couple of % a year, I would strongly suspect. There may be something about increasing after completing your 50% evaluation, but you'd have to check.

29k for two people will work out tight [by local standards], unless you get a very good housing deal. This is because the system assumes that both partners are working (and/or accessing some kind of benefits). I would be surprised if you could save much on that salary if you were supporting two people.

Industry pay more than academia, but not vastly more in the beginning of a career.
+
MSR123
post 6.Mar.2017, 11:27 PM
Post #3

Thank you for your fast reply.

The university arranged an accommodation for me and the rent is 5300 SEK for 32 sq m. I have no idea about the cost of living in Gothenburg. Is the salary too less for a decent living for two people?
+
delta76
post 6.Mar.2017, 11:57 PM
Post #4