The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
6 Pages V   1 2 3 > »    Reply to this topic

Advice - Moving to USA

Scottsdale AZ

globaltracker
post 27.Sep.2012, 09:28 AM
Post #1

Hi,

I have received a job offer from a company based in USA. They are willing to get me a H1-B visa too.
They are based in Scottsdale Arizona.
I guess there are a lot of American expatriates reading the discussions in The Local and hopefully be able to provide me with some advice on the below question.

At the moment I am a permanent resident in Sweden and in few months time will be eligible for Swedish Citizenship.
I have a permanent job in Sweden and have a salary around monthly SEK 50K. I work in the field of IT.
The company offering me the job will be paying me an annual salary between 85K and 90K USD.

Is Scottsdale a nice place compared to Stockholm ?
Will I be able to live a better life in USA than what I do in Sweden with the salary I am getting here when compared with the salary offered in the new job.

Appreciate your advice.
Go to the top of the page
+
byke
post 27.Sep.2012, 09:52 AM
Post #2

Will I be able to live a better life in USA than what I do in Sweden with the salary I am getting here when compared with the salary offered in the new job.

I just wanted to clear up this statement.
You are speaking purely from a monetary point of view?

As otherwise you get a influx of responses from people who try to base it on social values or other horror stories such as mass murder and obesity and many other generalizations used to defend the old blue with a yellow streak.
+
PDX
post 27.Sep.2012, 10:21 AM
Post #3

The job offer is most likely way on the low side - why would they want to hire you on H1-B otherwise?

In any case, even if you managed to negotiate a substantially higher pay, you have to decide how much the Swedish job security is worth to you... what will you do in Scottsdale if they fire you two weeks after you arrive?

~~~PDX~~~
+
texaslass