The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
  Reply to this topic

Does Gothenburg Want Software Developers?

Rayner
post 7.Nov.2005, 03:30 PM
Post #1

Hi all,

I'm looking to move to Gothenburg as soon as possible, but *must* find work over there prior to moving...the joys of needing money.

I've read through the posts in this forum, and the job market seems a bit depressing (to say the least). Is this a general trend for all employment sectors?

Basically, I'm a software developer with 6 years experience in Visual Basic and SQL Server. Am I going to find it easy to get a job, or is the area flooded with out of work developers who make ends meet by offering sexual favours in dark alleys?

Thanks in advance,

Rayner
Go to the top of the page
+
Eciym
post 7.Nov.2005, 03:35 PM
Post #2

Are you freelance? I would have thought that you could take work from anywhere in the world. As you may have gathered the jobs front here is limited, plus a lot of programming is done in the far east these days, as you're probably aware of. but that is only a broad view on the subject. Perhaps there is a great demand for programmers here, although I can't think why there should be.
+
Ecosse
post 7.Nov.2005, 03:38 PM
Post #3

Worked 5 years in GBG as IT manager, Applied 40 jobs last 5 months here, NOT 1 interview, only 2 companies had decency to say thanks but unsuccesful.. And I speak swedish... Too many IT trained people here.. When I say "trained" I mean they have the paper qualification, but up to the job is debatable in my experience...
+
Eyallow
post 7.Nov.2005, 03:43 PM
Post #4

The IT branch in Sweden has been officially reported to be stagnated and constitutes one of the sectors that has been most afflicted by the scourge of unemployment in Sweden!
+
Benzed
post 9.Nov.2005, 02:36 PM
Post #5

QUOTE (Kevan Hughes)