The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
  Reply to this topic

Londoner Moving to Stockholm

Software Developer with a job offer

CODESTOCKHOLMGUY
post 11.Nov.2017, 02:16 AM
Post #1

Hej,

I am a Software developer (React, JavaScript) with 5 years experience. My wife is Swedish and she has been living in London for 3 years. I recently got an offer for 49,000 KR/month and we want to move to Stockholm.

Budget

Rent: 15 000
Food/Shopping: 5,000
Transport: 800 SEK

My questions:

- is 49 000/month correct for my level of experience
- Assuming my wife doesn't find work in her field, would 49,000 support us both?
- Should I ask for more? and how open are Swedes to negotiating?
- Any tips you can share?

Regards,
Sabeur
Go to the top of the page
+
Gamla Hälsingebock
post 11.Nov.2017, 02:24 AM
Post #2

I don't want to seem unhelpful, but doesn't your wife know this???
+
CODESTOCKHOLMGUY
post 11.Nov.2017, 03:46 PM
Post #3

@Gamla not at all, very fair question

She hasn't worked or lived in Stockholm. She from another a small town, and honestly I want a second opinion of what is a good salary.
+
gsurya
post 11.Nov.2017, 04:45 PM
Post #4

QUOTE (CODESTOCKHOLMGUY @ 11.Nov.2017, 03:46 PM) *
@Gamla not at all, very fair question. She hasn't worked or lived in Stockholm. She from another a small town, and honestly I want a second opinion of what is a good salary.

You will find some very ugly trolls on this forum, just ignore them.

49000 is the right level for your are of coding & experience. Domain expertise can also matter. Its an average level for Stockholm, which is an expensive place to live in.

Generally if a Swedish company has already made an offer after discussions with you, they have given it a fair thought & consider it a good offer. You can also ask about some relocation payment, if thats not already added in.