The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
2 Pages V   1 2 >   Reply to this topic

Job hunting process

Language issue?

BL
post 21.Jan.2013, 03:56 PM
Post #1

Does anyone else with a solid work experience have issues job hunting (getting face time with agencies, interviews etc?) I am a UK national and have been in the country since July, I have over 10 years experience in the financial services sector. I am getting no interest from prospective employers or work agencies - no feedback whatsoever. Is it because I am not fluent in Swedish? Look forward to hearing from the audience.
Go to the top of the page
+
John.Smith
post 21.Jan.2013, 04:01 PM
Post #2

Yes and you have a non-Swedish Name.

A nicely written cover letter and CV in Swedish followed by a telephone call to the agency/employer in Swedish will give you a foot in the door. Otherwise you have an uphill battle.
+
BL
post 21.Jan.2013, 04:02 PM
Post #3

Thanks John, interesting.
+
Yorkshireman
post 21.Jan.2013, 04:20 PM
Post #4

QUOTE (John.Smith @ 21.Jan.2013, 04:01 PM) *
A nicely written cover letter and CV in Swedish followed by a telephone call to the agency/employer in Swedish will give you a foot in the door. Otherwise you have an uphill battle.

Though You may also give the wrong impression that You know Swedish by doing this, which can count against You.

If your experience is in the banking sector, then you need to understand that that sector has been shedding many jobs over the last few years, so You are most likely competing against many people that already have work experience in Sweden, most likely understands not only EU but also Swedish specific rules and regulations, and most likely the language.

In addition to that it is also likely that You are competing with other EU citizens trying to find work in Sweden, with just as good experience.