The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
2 Pages V   1 2 >   Reply to this topic

Considering Moving to Sweden

Any advice?

TheaterRaven
post 13.Sep.2014, 07:57 AM
Post #1

Hello, everyone,

I'm a native of the United States (California) and I spent last summer in Lund as a study abroad student. I'm a college graduate now and I've been thinking of going back there to live. I loved it in Sweden and met lots of wonderful people. The overall ambiance of the country was lovely. I was wondering if anyone has any advice for me. It would be a great change to move halfway across the world and I honestly don't know where to start.

A few specifics about me:
I don't speak Swedish (I learned a little, but nothing that would be considered even remotely fluent)
I am visually impaired and would need to know what assisting services are available for people with disabilities in Sweden (most notably with helping to find employment).

Thanks for any advice you may have.

Sincerely,
Alicia
Go to the top of the page
+
Emerentia
post 13.Sep.2014, 09:09 AM
Post #2

Hi!

To learn Swedish, there is SFI, Swedish for Immigrants courses you could take. But try to learn as much Swedish as you can on you own, before you get here. Listen to audiobooks, watch Swedish films or TV-shows, even if you just understand a little bit of it, keep listening until it gets a little bit easier. Talk to yourself. In Swedish. When you are alone of course. Translate some of your thoughts when you are sitting on a bus. Try to name as many things you see around you, in Swedish. Yes, this sounds silly, but it might help a bit. (edit... Oh, I realized the visually impaired part right after I posted this, I'm sorry, it's of course hard to name stuff you see around you on the bus then... But what I meant was just stuff you come to think of and come across in a every day situation. I hope I didn't offend you, that wasn't my intention)

Synskadades riksf
+
Svensksmith
post 13.Sep.2014, 01:01 PM
Post #3