The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
2 Pages V   1 2 >   Reply to this topic

Old light ceiling socket wont work ?

Wiring problem or socket problem ?

Typr40
post 9.Sep.2014, 12:28 PM
Post #1
Joined: 9.Sep.2014

I just moved to a new place, and the ceiling socket for our lights is not the standard two pronged one. It has three holes and is completely round without a flat edge. The new standard light plug fits but no power will go to my lamp ? does any one know if this is a wiring problem or do i need to replace just the socket ?
Go to the top of the page
+
Hallander
post 9.Sep.2014, 01:57 PM
Post #2
Joined: 4.Mar.2009

Somewhat baffled. Two pins means no earth, three pins earth included. Modern ones have a flat so they only go in one way. Can you put your plug in more than one way, in which case does one of those give you power for your light ?
Go to the top of the page
+
Svensksmith
post 9.Sep.2014, 02:23 PM
Post #3
Joined: 28.Jul.2011

Call an electrician. Don't mess with stuff you don't know about.
Go to the top of the page
+
Gamla Hälsingebock
post 9.Sep.2014, 03:16 PM
Post #4
Joined: 21.Dec.2006

Amen...
Go to the top of the page
+
Emerentia
post 9.Sep.2014, 04:07 PM
Post #5
Joined: 23.Dec.2011

QUOTE (Typr40 @ 9.Sep.2014, 12:28 PM) *
The new standard light plug fits but no power will go to my lamp ?


As far as I know, when its that kind, two is working and one is not. Have you tried all combinations? If that doesn't work, take a picture of it and take it to a lamp store and ask them,

I think that's a so called "kronkoppling" (I have no idea what that is called in English). In the old days they didnt have dimmers, but they had lamps where you could switch on just some of the bulbs in the same lamp, if you get what I mean. That's why it's three holes. But I'm no electrician.
Go to the top of the page
+
TLSucks
post 9.Sep.2014, 04:31 PM
Post #6
Joined: 12.Dec.2013

QUOTE (Emerentia @ 9.Sep.2014, 04:07 PM) *
As far as I know, when its that kind, two is working and one is not. Have you tried all combinations? If that doesn't work, take a picture of it and take it to a lamp stor ... (show full quote)


Yes, no earth in ceiling lamps AFAIK. Try to rotate the plug and try all three combinations.
Go to the top of the page
+
Gamla Hälsingebock
post 9.Sep.2014, 08:42 PM
Post #7
Joined: 21.Dec.2006

It could be a lot of things...my bet now is a fuse.

Do you have a circuit tester???

Are you renting???...If so, ask you know who!!!
Go to the top of the page
+
Typr40
post 9.Sep.2014, 11:33 PM
Post #8
Joined: 9.Sep.2014

Hey !!I
I know enough about circuiting, because in Canada you don't get the fancy sockets so we have to wire them directly to the lamp. So I took out my multimeter and it turns out that only two of the holes were live/neutral. After testing I marked off the live ones and plugged it in those two. Now, my lights are all working ! Thanks for the advice guys !
Go to the top of the page
+
Typr40
post 9.Sep.2014, 11:36 PM
Post #9
Joined: 9.Sep.2014

p.s. this is what it looks like if anyone was wondering smile.gif

http://www.byggahus.se/forum/attachment.ph...mp;d=1361228770
Go to the top of the page
+
Hallander
post 10.Sep.2014, 08:29 AM
Post #10
Joined: 4.Mar.2009

QUOTE
Yes, no earth in ceiling lamps AFAIK.

Beware any post with AFAIK. They exist, easy to check before posting. See http://www.clasohlson.com/se/Lamputtag/Pr325522000
Names 2 pin, 2 pin + earth, kron (which I haven't yet grasped properly.)

Glad you got it sorted. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+
TLSucks
post 10.Sep.2014, 05:52 PM
Post #11
Joined: 12.Dec.2013

QUOTE (Hallander @ 10.Sep.2014, 08:29 AM) *
Beware any post with AFAIK. They exist, easy to check before posting. See http://www.clasohlson.com/se/Lamputtag/Pr325522000 Names 2 pin, 2 pin + earth, kron (which I haven& ... (show full quote)


Kronkoppling is exactly what Emerentia said, two circuits without earth. Easy to check with google.
Go to the top of the page
+
Hallander
post 10.Sep.2014, 07:21 PM
Post #12
Joined: 4.Mar.2009

Kronkoppling - what she said was fine and I had already Googled it and found a circuit that matched the description.

But what floored me and still does concerned when I was buying a double light switch (replacement). All the ones I could readily buy were "kron" where one switch was up for on, the other down http://www.jula.se/catalog/el-och-belysnin...brytare-400252/ . This is not the UK norm of UK typical where both up would be off, both down on. The broad range available is shown at http://www.clasohlson.com/se/Str%C3%B6mbry...-RS/Pr324068000 The advt shows as I found that the "both up would be off, both down on" was a much higher price - double. Please find me a reference where the logic and use of this "kron" switch is explained.
Go to the top of the page
+
TLSucks
post 11.Sep.2014, 12:40 AM
Post #13
Joined: 12.Dec.2013

Then you have wired it wrong. Up is either on or off, not both, except for stairs where you don't know the configuration.

Here are some schematics https://support.elot.se/forum/diskussion-st...oembrytare.html

Kron only cuts one wire on each lamp, while 2-pol cuts both wires on each lamp. 2-pol + 1-pol cuts both wires on one lamp and one wire on the other lamp.
Go to the top of the page
+
Hallander
post 11.Sep.2014, 09:05 AM
Post #14
Joined: 4.Mar.2009

Very interesting link, though clearly you havent read my post and havent a clue what you are talking about. I wasnt doing new wiring but replacing a switch,The kron two knappar switch has as I said one switch up for on, and the other down for on, both being single pole, and two terminals per switch. There is only one way to wire up each switch. Apparently the next most common switch sold, and I still dont see why, and where you might use it.

And it confirms that if you want both switches up for off and down for on, you have to pay twice the price, buying a dubbel trapp switch. But not use all the teminals on the switch.

Now trapp wiring is rather harder to understand, but thats another topic.
Go to the top of the page
+
TLSucks
post 11.Sep.2014, 11:05 AM
Post #15
Joined: 12.Dec.2013

I read your post perfectly fine and meant that you hooked up the EXISTING wires in the wrong way to the new switch. One up and one down for on is certainly not the standard for any switch.

Kronbrytare should only have three terminals, like this http://www.byggahus.se/forum/attachment.ph...mp;d=1194098804.
Go to the top of the page
+

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members: