The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
  Reply to this topic

Temp lay off from work! Verbal agreement

Where do I stand if employer goes back agreement?

muir318
post 12.Jan.2012, 02:43 PM
Post #1

Hello again guys,

Ok,Here is my situation.
I have been working with a company now for around 18 months.As far as i have been told they are happy with my work and i am happy working with them.

In december my boss approached me to say i would be getting laid off temporarly from dec 19th and that i would be employed again the end of febuary or march!That was a verbal aggreement i agreed with due to him saying i would be re employed in those months.
He stated the reason being that there was no work over the winter until a large project starts in febuary/march.i was told over a year ago my contract was "fast" with a contract signed etc...

We signed a paper saying he had spoke to me etc regarding my lay off, and i now have my intyg from them and now applying for A-kassan.

I am a painter with this building firm and i have since found out the other painters are still working and i am the only one laid off from work.!!
My worry is,What if they dont re-employ me!!? i have a one year old son and new apartment to pay for among other things..

My question is ,where do i stand if they go back on this verbal agreement?? Can i take it further(I.E. court or union etc? i am not a member of any union tho)..

Its not something i would really like to do but financially i may have too!!

any advice would be great..
Thanks in advance..
Go to the top of the page
+
byke
post 12.Jan.2012, 02:47 PM
Post #2

Ask your boss straight out, if he then turns around and says you signed something that you didnt know what it was or said and appears to be different to your vocal understanding ... You then have an idea where you stand and can choose to use the time saved in a more positive manner (aka look for another job etc)
+
Puffin
post 12.Jan.2012, 11:06 PM
Post #3