The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
2 Pages V   1 2 >   Reply to this topic

Journalism in Stockholm

Davejohnson
post 17.Aug.2006, 02:58 AM
Post #1

A while back I asked about any job opportunities for Brits in Stockholm and after an initial flurry of replies (cheers, bless all your cotton socks) it went a bit quiet.

I'm a journalist by trade, so a repetitive and pushy sod by nature and thought I'd reiterate my request. Particularly interested from hearing from Yorkshire Goddess again.

Cheers again.
Go to the top of the page
+
*Trowbridge H. Ford*
post 17.Aug.2006, 08:08 AM
Post #2

While I have not worked as a journalist here, I have dealt with several about important political matters, especially the assassination of Olof Palme, and I have found them the most closed group I have ever seen.

While they were interested in recording my conversations, taking me out to lunch for discussions, and asking for things I have written, and work by others I would recommend - what made me increasing suspect that they were just conduits for the Swedish securocrats - NOTHING ever came of it in the papers, expect for a guy, Bo Andersson as I recall from Dagens Nyheter, telling me, finally, that it was just a good way to get oneself killed.

So, if you are interested in political journalism, and hope to bring new perspectives to Swedish journalism, forget it. It is a closed, rather paranoid shop.
+
VikingHumpingWitch
post 17.Aug.2006, 09:05 AM
Post #3

You see Trow, that's what people mean when they say you are too ready to insult others. Just because someone doesn't believe your outlandish stories (and let's face it, nobody does, so that maybe ought to tell you something) doesn't mean they are working for the security forces, paranoid or 'closed'.
+
VikingHumpingWitch
post 17.Aug.2006, 09:06 AM
Post #4

Anyway, job opportunities. How good is your Swedish? Makes all the difference.
+
Yorkshire Goddess
post 17.Aug.2006, 09:22 AM
Post #5