The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
2 Pages V   1 2 >   Reply to this topic

Living in Sweden and working remotely (EU/USA)

Can I telecommute from Germany or US?

Paul Troon
post 4.Sep.2012, 12:34 PM
Post #1

My wife and young son have Swedish citizenship, and I am a resident/citizen of the USA. We would like to move back to Sweden from Wisconsin when our son starts school.

Getting Swedish residency for me is no problem, but I would like to stay with my current US employer and work remotely in Sweden.

My employer will allow me to work remotely, but it is a small company (20 people) and establishing a business presence in Sweden is out of the question. I am considering various options and would be grateful to to hear from anyone who has been in a similar situation.

My company has a small office in Germany and I could transfer to that office instead if having an EU employer would help. If I worked for a Germany company, could I live and work remotely from Sweden with out establishing a Swedish business entity? My wife used to work in Copenhagen and live in Malmö as a normal employee, so in theory it seems possible.

I know I could find a job in Sweden also, but I have a big personal investment in my current employer and if they are willing to allow me to work from Sweden it would be the ideal situation for us.

If someone can recommend a good international immigration and/or personnel lawyer with experience in both the EU and Sweden that would also be much appreciated. I do not want to do anything that would jeopardize my ability to live with my family in Sweden.

Tack så mycket! paul
Go to the top of the page
+
byke
post 4.Sep.2012, 12:38 PM
Post #2

Why on earth would you want to move so that your child to attend school in Sweden?
Education in Sweden isn't worth the paper it's printed on.
+
Bender B Rodriquez
post 4.Sep.2012, 12:50 PM
Post #3

Dear Paul,

Never mind byke; he rarely gives any meaningful input to this forum anyway.