The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
  Reply to this topic

English speaking primary schools

Visiting academic

*visitor10*
post 22.May.2010, 08:49 AM
Post #1

I may be visiting Umea University after Christmas and plan to bring my family ( I have 3 children 6,8 and 10). I have searched on the internet for primary schools that my English speaking kids might attend for a semester but have not manages to locate any.

I am happy if they follow the Swedish curriculum its just the language that is my concern.

Any information would be much appreciated.

Chris
Go to the top of the page
+
roch
post 22.May.2010, 10:05 AM
Post #2

Hi Chris,

I am a teacher here in Umeå.

There are not any international schools here for primary school level, or solely English speaking ones. The closest to your requirements would be Språkskolan.

http://www.sprakskolan.com

Also you MIGHT be eligible for your children to have a lesson in English every week for 40 minutes with a hemspråk (home language) teacher.
However, if you are here only for a term, then I think that would not be likely as you need to apply for it. And I know that there are children on a waiting list at present.

If you do find that you would like more English lessons for your children when you arrive, please do contact me as I currently also take private students.

www.englishumea.weebly.com

Good luck with your move!

Rochelle
+
Puffin
post 22.May.2010, 10:17 AM
Post #3

As you say there are no English speaking or biligual schools in Umeå apart from an upper secondary/A level college for 16-19 year olds.

What you should do is to contact the education department in Umeå and discuss your situation
Some kommuns have 'Tellus' classes which give intensive Swedish support
+
Puffin
post 22.May.2010, 10:44 AM
Post #4

Your children have a legal right to English lessons (modersmålundervisning) - they are not legally allowed to put kids on waiting lists
+
roch
post 22.May.2010, 10:56 AM
Post #5

Hi Puffin,