The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
  Reply to this topic

Finding work as a UK nurse in Sweden

Chances of getting a job and other advice

*Tara x*
post 30.May.2009, 02:54 PM
Post #1

Hej!

I'm studying to be a general/adult nurse in England. Once I have my degree I'm hoping to move to Sweden to be with my partner, is it possible to be a general/adult nurse there?

I read I have to pass certain tests (SFI) but once I am fluent in Swedish, will it be a problem for me to undertake work as a nurse in Sweden?

Thanks smile.gif

Tara
Go to the top of the page
+
Bender B Rodriquez
post 30.May.2009, 03:08 PM
Post #2

You will need to have your credentials approved and your language skills tested, but since you have a UK degree this should not be a problem:

http://www.socialstyrelsen.se/en/Licensing/Euleginfoeng.htm
+
Puffin
post 30.May.2009, 03:20 PM
Post #3

Most heath authorities require a higher level test than the basic SFI test and want people with either A-level (gymnasiet Svenska 2) or the TISUS test - however it is possible to get this in approx 1-2 years - if you are in the right area Södertälje in the southern area of Stockholm does a special SFA (Swedish for graduates) which combines SFI withe the other courses needed in a special course for healthcare professionals that combines Swedish lessons with work experience placements to learn the routines etc. - the course is full time for 1 year.

http://www.komvux.sodertalje.se/sfa_vard/index.htm

- there are also non-specific SFA courses at other universities that get you to A-level in 1-1½ years
+
Hannah
post 30.May.2009, 03:47 PM
Post #4

Hi Tara!

I'm a UK trained nurse working in Sweden! It was pretty straightforward actually...got my degree converted to a swedish licence to practice. i downloaded the form from the Socialstyrelsen website.

http://www.socialstyrelsen.se/NR/rdonlyres...C0/0/B45355.pdf