The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
  Reply to this topic

Chances of finding IT work in Sweden

As a foreigner with experience who speaks Swedish

Salmon
post 23.Jul.2009, 11:39 AM
Post #1

Hi Guys

I have moved to Sweden about 8 months ago.

In the past years, i have studied translation, later i have moved to Dubai where i have got a wonderfull job position within IT, i have worked for one.com , a known danish webhosting company during two years and a half, without having a background in IT but with some basic knowledge. They took me because i speak 5 languages as it's hard to find a totally IT guy that speaks many languages.

Since i came to Sweden ( to join my girlfriend ) i study sfi, im in D level now, and i would like to know what are my chances to find work in IT related jobs here in Sweden, taking in consideration that my background is not in IT, but that i have worked in a company which is also known here in Sweden, and that i have the experience because i feel that i have learned all that i had to learn in 2 years and a half in real practice,( i worked as a helpdesk). In other words, i would like to know how can my previous experience helps me in the future here in Sweden, in order to reevaluate or validate my previous experience ? do they just recognise your experience like maybe in the usa, once you speak swedish, or will i have to study IT in order to have both, the experience and the background ? please advice .

Thanks for your valuable posts
Go to the top of the page
+
skane refugee
post 23.Jul.2009, 11:45 AM
Post #2

who you know and personal recommendation are usually the key to getting a decent job in Sweden ...

therefore suggest you network like crazy among any of your former colleagues who have a Swedish connection

IMHO having worked for a Scandi company (even in Dubai) should be a big plus (assuming the references are good of course!)