The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
  Reply to this topic

US to Sweden

Relocation Feedback

comingtoyou
post 8.Mar.2017, 05:58 AM
Post #1

Hi all,

I am planning a move to Sweden in September 2017. I am looking for feedback on feasibility, culture, jobs etc.

I am a single, black, gay man from Chicago, IL and Michiganm US. I have a Masters in Economics and a Masters in Business Administration (MBA) in Predictive Analytics from DePaul University and my undergrad degree from Michigan State University. My professional background was in NGO senior management. I will be looking for jobs primarily in data analytics and/or business analytics and secondarily in NGO management. My goal is to have 20K USD in reserves to support the move. I don't speak Swedish now, but am doing courses, will hopefully have a basic conversational level before arriving.

My questions:
1. What is the feasibility of getting a job in these sectors?
2. What is the job market like? How long has the average job search been?
3. I have read many posts that mention networking as key to finding a job, are there boards that you would recommend?
4. Would 20K USD support 6 months of living while looking for a job?
5. Any feedback on laying groundwork before the move? adjusting?
Go to the top of the page
+
yet another brit
post 8.Mar.2017, 08:41 AM
Post #2

Well, there is a pretty strong financial/IT sector, so business analytics probably isn't impossible. The market is much smaller of course, you need to imagine you're limited to just one mid-sized but wealthy and reasonably high-tech US state in comparison. Albeit one that runs a foreign development program and has some NGOs :-)

You'll find that you'll get some kind of positive discrimination for being from the US - as long as it is clear to all that you aren't a Trump Republican! Unfortunately, you may find some real (if unstated & understated) negative discrimination for being black. No-one will care about your sexuality.