The Local is not responsible for content posted by users.
  Reply to this topic

Planing to study an undergraduate degree (Swedish)

Take a year learning Swedish to study?

Grop
post 22.Apr.2017, 01:00 PM
Post #1

Hi people,

Currently, I live in the UK and I am in my last year of the A-Levels(British qualification similar to the gymnasiums). I want to study either Law or Economics in Swedish. My plan is to go in the summer when I finish my A-Levels and take a year to learn Swedish before going to University.

I have some questions regarding the viability of this plan, maybe you could help me a bit smile.gif.

1) Is it possible to meet the Swedish requirement with the SFI course or further courses are required?

2)If further courses are required, how long would it take to complete both the SFI and the further courses required altogether?

Many thanks beforehand! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+
cinnamonroll
post 12.May.2017, 07:07 PM
Post #2

Be aware of the requirement between Swedish high school syllabus and GCE AL. As far as I know there is a business bachelor programme in Stockholm University.

I believe SFI is insufficient. There are additional levels and exams that you have to complete. I think before any of this you should check whether you are eligible for a personal number (if you are not coming already being admitted as a student).

Wish you all the best.
+
mjennin2
post 13.May.2017, 07:15 AM
Post #3

Believe me when I say it will take much longer than a year to become university-fluent in Swedish, especially if you have no previous foundation in the language.