Reply to this topic

Can a Swedish Citizen take SFI course?

I'm a Swede who can't speak Swedish..

ninaws
post 14.Jul.2017, 07:11 PM
Post #1

So I have a what is probably a fairly unique situation.

I'm a dual American-Swedish citizen who has never lived in Sweden. My mother, at the time, was very self-conscious about being a foreigner in this country so she made a point to only speak English with my brother and me when we were growing up so we are not bi-lingual.

For a variety of reasons, I am considering a move to Sweden. While I have some knowledge of the language, I am in no way fluent. Would I be able to enroll in a Swedish for Immigrants course once I am over there or would I be unable to do so since I am svensk medborgare?
Go to the top of the page
+
Bsmith
post 14.Jul.2017, 07:31 PM
Post #2

Not sure about the SFI, perhaps contacting the Swedish embassy might help. Certainly there are options to learn Swedish here in the States prior to your move. However, you will learn much more once you are totally immersed in the language.

Good luck.
+
ninaws
post 14.Jul.2017, 07:39 PM
Post #3

I am currently working privately with a tutor to get myself up to speed as much as I can before moving (should that happen). But I will reach out to the Embassy and ask about whether or not I would qualify for the SFI course; I hadn't thought of doing that!

Thanks!

Ou of curiosity, what are the wait times likes? Even if I don't qualify, my husband will as he's not a citizen. Good info to know for the managing of expectations. wink.gif
+
rex
post 14.Jul.2017, 11:06 PM
Post #4

Anyone can take SFI courses in Sweden, I don't think there are any requirements at all. You just have to go to the commune and sign up; from my experience it usually takes anywhere between two to six weeks waiting before the course starts. But this was before the refugee crisis; you should definitely ask someone else who's had a more recent experience.