Reply to this topic

Divorce, Property Division and Custody

Need advice

NYDave
post 21.Sep.2017, 10:00 AM
Post #1

I am an American who has been married to a swede for 14 years, we have lived in Sweden the last 6 years and have two children aged 11 and 8.
After my wife cheated on me and I discovered this, she filed for divorce.
Although I am a permanent resident of Sweden I have never learnt the language so going through the legal process is challenging. I do not have money for a lawyer.
I am hoping to reach out to others in a similar position to me or who have been through it and maybe get some help on what to expect

Custody
The ex wife has made claims of violence and has involved social services. These were lies and I have been cleared of all accusations, however she is seeking sole custody of the kids but happy for the kids to spend 50 percent of the time with me. From what I have been advised it is almost impossible for anyone to be granted sole custody but I am still worried.

Property Division
We bought our house out of the proceeds of the sale from our house back in the USA. Prior to that the money to purchase our house in the USA came 100% out of my savings and income. I have received valuations on our property but she is obtaining valuations alot lower than mine hoping to buy me out, because we cant agree on a value the property divider has said he will get a valuation. he also said that if she provides proof from the bank she can service the mortgage then I will have no choice but to let her buy the house. She has controlled all my finances so I do not have the ability to get a home loan in my own right.
She also disputes the debts we have, in particular a loan i took out from a friend last year when we were in bug financial trouble. I agreed to pay it back to him but she did not now till after the fact about the loan. She is now refusing to accept that as a debt on the marriage.