6 Pages V   1 2 3 > »    Reply to this topic

The Right Skills

Lots of love little talent.

Nitch
post 12.Jan.2018, 05:14 PM
Post #1

Sooooo,

I love Sweden, I mean I really really love Sweden. I spent two summers in Malmo years ago doing a help exchange. Now I am a little older, married with a new baby, living in the bag of crazy that is the U.S.A. I have pitched the concept of making the move, and the wife is all about it. The only issue is that I have no high value skill sets. I am currently a General Manager in charge of a large dining operation for a major corporation. Which translates simply to that I run restaurants. Sadly there doesn't seem to be any need to import someone all the way from the U.S. to Sweden to have them manage a restaurant.

So my question is, is there any way, path, option, to be able to make the jump from the U.S. to Sweden with my family without a highly desirable skill set? Has any one else had any success or know some other way.

I understand why there are immigration laws and all that, it just is so heart breaking to me that there is a place in the world that fills me with such joy, a place I would 100% buy into, learn the language, raise my kid in the culture, pay the taxes, consume and produce, but because I have the wrong passport or took the wrong career path, it is completely shut off from me.
Go to the top of the page
+
Bsmith
post 12.Jan.2018, 05:30 PM
Post #2

It can be done but you would help your case immensely if you could speak the language. You most likely will have to adjust your career and lifestyle expectations a bit as well.