Reply to this topic

Moving from London to Stockholm - Self employed

Tax guidance

Meetjoeblack16
post 15.Apr.2018, 09:30 AM
Post #1

Hi everyone,

Long time reader, first time poster here. I'm looking for some clarity on the tax system in Sweden (I know, I know, a very exciting post!)

I am a freelance filmmaker and in the near future, I will be moving permanently to Stockholm.

From my understanding, I will need to set up either an AB company or become a sole trader.

In my research, I've seen that AB companies are taxed at 22% but then they also have to pay social security tax ~30% for each employee (in this case, I am the only employee) and then I'd also have to personally pay municipal tax ~30%. (I've attached a very rough breakdown of how I understand it - apologies for the bad quality)

I've been unable to find exact sole trader tax liabilities.

Side note: I'm currently setup with a limited company in the UK. Part of me wonders if I could work for my UK company but live in Sweden and pay personal Swedish tax. Is that allowed?

Overall, I'd love to know what percentage of my income will be taxed as a freelancer.

Any general advice into setting up as a freelancer in Sweden would be brilliant as well.

Thanks a lot!

Attached Image

Go to the top of the page
+
Essingen55
post 15.Apr.2018, 04:44 PM
Post #2

In my research, I've seen that AB companies are taxed at 22% but then they also have to pay social security tax ~30% for each employee (in this case, I am the only employee) and then I'd also have to personally pay municipal tax ~30%. (I've attached a very rough breakdown of how I understand it - apologies for the bad quality)

Yes, except that I would put it the other way around...they pay the employees first with the social security tax rates you have indicated and then what is left is taxed at 22%.

You can't avoid the social security contributions by being self-employed instead, which is ....as far as I can read it...what your example seems to imply.
+