Reply to this topic

Skatteverket to collect taxes

for work done outside SWE

plop
post 9.Aug.2018, 10:04 PM
Post #1

Hello there,

I was wondering if anyone can help me with this:

Is it legal for Skatteverket to want to collect taxes for work done outside Sweden?
My case: I studied in Sweden until January 2017 and in the meantime I worked part time with an online company based in the UK (with which I continue to work after I left Sweden).
Now I'm getting letters from the Skatteverket asking me to pay taxes for the whole year as if I have lived there the whole year (I was only there for 1 month). Is there a way to show them I haven't lived there since February 2017? I remember when I left I went to their office and informed them about the departure.
Go to the top of the page
+
john.boy
post 10.Aug.2018, 05:09 PM
Post #2

When you become tax resident in Sweden then you become liable for taxation on Global Income, so yes it is legal.

You say you went to Skatteverket to notify them, did you make sure they removed you from the population register? If not, then you may still be considered as resident in Sweden, even if you gave them a foreign address (that could be considered temporary and you still be liable for GLobal Income taxation, taking into account any taxation agreements with whichever country you went to).

You should easily be able to prove you were outside of Sweden, rental contracts, foreign utility bills, transport tickets out of sweden etc. etc.
+
plop
post 10.Aug.2018, 06:13 PM
Post #3

Hello,

Actually after I moved out they sent a letter that stated "beslut:
skatteverket avregistrerar dig fran folkbokforingen..." so yes, they removed me from the population register.
Is it possible for them to register a person once again without the person asking for this registration? (if that is the case, I haven't received their notification?)
+
Svedallas
post 10.Aug.2018, 09:10 PM
Post #4

QUOTE (plop @ 10.Aug.2018, 07:13 PM) *